InsiderTech Live

London ILS Conference

Online

MAY 19 - 20 2021

DAYS UNTIL THE CONFERENCE

countdownmail.com

About InsiderTech Live 2021

May 19-20, 2021

After a year of uncertainty, decline in InsurTech fundraising trend, and a shift in investor confidence, we turn with open-minds and hope to the year 2021. InsiderTech Live will address the issues ignited in 2020 while maintaining a laser-sharp focus on how this new year brings renewed opportunities. We will gather the most innovative (re)insurance leaders, latest technologies, and the smartest investors from across the sector to delve into the strategic thinking for InsurTech in wholesale specialty and (re)insurance market.

 

Staying true to our goal at InsiderTech, we will be looking at how incumbents and InsurTech firms efficiently interact in the insurance space. Over two days, we will be exploring the InsurTech space in both the UK and US.

 

Discussions will include:

  • InsurTech cycles: where are we in 2021?
  • The shift in focus on e-trading platforms for reinsurance and complex risks.
  • Opportunities created for Insurtech companies caused by a need to meet challenges caused by COVID-19.
  • Challenges faced by InsurTech firms in 2021 and how to overcome them (with use of case studies).
  • What the increase in investment in InsurTech means for the long-term sustainability of InsurTech firms.
  • Lessons from other areas of finance.
     

Specific focus points within the agenda:

  • InsurTech changing the landscape of Reinsurance
  • Back-office optimization
  • Improving e-trading
  • Lloyd’s Blueprint and what this means for innovation through targeting digital efficiencies
  • Changes in aspects of the distribution model
  • Investor appetite in 2021

Download the Full Preview

Cras ultricies tristique quam, ut maximus augue ornare ut. Proin vitae tempus libero. Fusce feugiat nibh lectus, ac suscipit arcu viverra eget. Morbi nibh mi, cursus semper tristique eu, ullamcorper a dolor. Nulla facilisi. Aliquam dignissim odio justo, a suscipit turpis dignissim eget.

 

FORM GOES HERE

 

SPONSOR

For sponsorship packages, contact events@insuranceinsider.com.

BOOK NOW

Speakers

Adam Rimmer
Co-Founder
FloodFlash

David Janczewski
CEO & co-founder
Coincover 

Marcus Broome
Chief Platform Officer
Whitespace

Richard Chattock
Chief Executive Officer
InsurTech Gateway

Marie-Christine Razaire
Associate
Northwestern Mutual
Future Ventures

David Wechsler
VP, Growth Initiatives
Hippo Insurance

Katelyn Johnson
Managing Director
American Family Ventures 

Alex Maffeo
CEO & Founder
Boost

Michael Byrne
Partner

McDermott Will & Emery

Steven Hauck
Managing Director
AP Intego

Christina Hopper
President,
Aon

Michael Halsband
Partner
McDermott Will & Emery

John Butler
Managing Director
Cohen & Company

Tushar Virmani
Executive Director
JP Morgan Securities

Ben Lantos
Co-Founder & CFO
Rhino

Jerad Leigh
Co-founder, CEO
Supercede

Agenda

Day One - May 19th
13:55pm (BST) // 08:55am (EDT)

Welcoming remarks
Catrin Shi, Managing Editor, Insurance Insider

14:00 – 14:30pm (BST) // 09:00 – 09:30am (EDT)
Fireside chat and Q&A

Moderator:
Catrin Shi,
Managing Editor, Insurance Insider

14:35 – 15:20pm (BST) // 09:35 – 10:20am (EDT)
Panel Discussion: Distribution

Topics to be discussed:

  • How is insurance distribution changing? Are the changes considered to be sustainable?
  • Across what dimensions are distribution models changing (i.e. customers, sales force, and enablers/investment)?
  • What have been the main difficulties in accommodating the new working landscape and what problems can you foresee going forward?
  • Is differentiation in the distribution space more achievable now? How can insurance companies capitalise on the current conditions to reach a wider customer base?
  • How can InsurTechs and incumbents make strategic M&A decisions to enhance distribution?

Moderator: 

Bernard Goyder, Senior Reporter, Inside P&C (moderator)

Panelists: 

  • Marcus Broome, Chief Platform Officer, Whitespace
  • Matt Carter, Founder & CEO, Cognitive Risk
  • Nigel Roberts, Head of Distribution, Aegis

15:20 – 15:50pm (BST) // 10:20 – 10:50am (EDT)
Networking break

Time to network with your market peers and make new connections. 

15:45 – 16:30pm // 10:45 – 11:30am (EDT)
Panel Discussion Lead by MWE: M&A and Financing of InsurTech: Accelerating the Sector Growth

Five years into the InsiderTech Series, this McDermott moderated panel will explore the burgeoning landscape of M&A activity, (still) early-round VC financings, leverage and the rapid jump to public market capital raise. The panel of leading investors, start-ups and advisors will explore the effect of such funding on the sector, and how it is fueling rapid organic and inorganic growth in this nascent and disruptive corner of the insurance industry.

 

Moderator:

Michael Halsband, Partner, McDermott Will & Emery

Panelists:

 

  • Michael Halsband, Partner, McDermott Will & Emery
  • John Butler, Managing Director, Cohen & Company
  • Tushar Virmani, Executive Director, JP Morgan Securities
  • Ben Lantos, Co-Founder & CFO, Rhino
  • Katelyn Johnson, Managing Director, American Family Ventures

16:35pm – 17:25pm (BST) // 11:35am – 12:25pm (BST)
Quick Fire InsurTech line-up

Moderator:

James Thaler, News Editor, Inside P&C

Panelists:

  • Adam Rimmer, Co-Founder, FloodFlash
  • David Janczewski, CEO & co-founder, Coincover
  • Tim McCosh, Founder, Yokahu

17:25pm (BST) // 12:25pm (EDT)
Closing remarks

Catrin Shi, Managing Editor, Insurance Insider

Day Two - May 20th
13:55pm (BST) // 08:55am (EDT)

Welcoming remarks
Catrin Shi, Managing Editor, Insurance Insider

14:00 – 14:45pm (BST) // 09:00 – 09:45am (EDT)
Panel Discussion Lead by MWE: The Evolution and Future of Embedded Insurance

A distinguished panel led by McDermott partner Mike Byrne will discuss the high growth area of embedded insurance - coverage that is part of another retail product. The panelists will discuss societal and other trends creating tremendous demand for embedded products, and how they will impact the industry in the future.

 

Moderator:

Michael Byrne, Partner, McDermott Will & Emery

 

Speakers include:

  • Michael Byrne, Partner, McDermott Will & Emery
  • Christina Hopper, President, Aon
  • David Wechsler, VP, Growth Initiatives, Hippo Insurance
  • Marie-Christine Razaire, Associate, Northwestern Mutual Future Ventures
  • Steven Hauck, Managing Director, AP Intego
  • Alex Maffeo, CEO & Founder, Boost

14:50 – 15:35pm (BST) // 09:50 – 10:35am (EDT)
Panel: Investor Perspective

Topics to be discussed include:

  • As Insurtech evolves, how does the landscape for investment evolve accordingly?
  • In the coming years, what are investment firms and venture capitalists looking to invest in?
  • What developments can we expect to see in the SME market?
  • How can you ensure 'ethical' investments? Is there a shift in appetite amid climate change concerns?
  • Do you see a sustainable future with Insurtechs and IPOs?

Moderator:

Amit Kumar, Director of Research, Inside P&C

Panelists Include: 
Richard Chattock
, Chief Executive Officer, InsurTech Gateway

15:30 – 16:00pm (BST) // 10:30 – 11:00am (EDT)
Networking break

Time to network with your market peers and make new connections.

16:00 – 16:45pm (BST) // 11:00 – 11:45am (EDT)

Panel Discussion:  Optimising the Value Chain – InsurTechs and Incumbents

Moderator:

Catrin Shi, Managing Editor, Insurance Insider 

Speaker:

Artur Niemczewski, Advisor, Anthemis Group

 

Topics to be debated include:

  • Are underwriting risks and loss prediction the main focus areas for InsurTechs in 2021?
  • Where does the most value lie for InsurTechs? Is it in optimizing legacy insurers' most complex and fundamental operations or reinventing the wheel?
  • Blueprint 2 and why data is crucial on the road to digitisation.
  • Is there much opportunity for InsurTechs to achieve scale by partnering with incumbents? How can the process of partnerships be made more accessible?
  • What potential is there for new automation and in which areas are they likely to be concentrated?
  • How is the role of e-trading evolving within insurance? What are the main challenges in producing a sophisticated back-office and e-trading interface? 

Moderator:

Catrin Shi, Managing Editor, Insurance Insider

16:50pm – 17:35pm (BST) // 11:50am – 12:35pm (EDT)
InsurTech changing the landscape of Reinsurance

Moderator:

James Thaler, News Editor, Inside P&C

 

Panelists: 

  • Jerad Leigh, Co-Founder, CEO, Supercede
  • Carlos Wong-Fupuy, Senior Airector, analytics, A.M. Best
  •  

Topics to be debated include:

  • Have there been advancements in bettering the value chain to make it more resistant to extraneous change?
  • Is the market still in the early stages of realising the benefits of InsurTech in the reinsurance space?
  • What are the longer-term implications of not embracing the technology fast enough?

17:35pm (BST) // 12:35pm (EDT)
Closing remarks

Catrin Shi, Managing Editor, Insurance Insider

 

Headline Sponsor

Associate Sponsors

Scaleup Partners 

Media Partner

For sponsorship packages contact
Katy Pieris: katy.pieris@euromoneyplc.com +447764992713